National Owl Pellet Survey

 

The Mammal Society's National Owl Pellet Survey is a very quick and easy way for you to help map British small mammal populations. We need you to collect owl pellets when you're out and about and to send them, along with the date and location, to one of our volunteer analysers.

The survey has been running since 1997, and has gathered a huge amount of data. The survey is run by a group of volunteer pellet analysers across the British Isles, following on from excellent work by Alasdair Love until 2012.

 

What are owl pellets?

Owl pellets are small, rounded collections of the indigestible parts of small mammals that the owls have eaten, including fur and bones. They are regurgitated by the owl and usually dropped to the ground below the nest area.

Where can you find owl pellets?

Barn Owl pellets are found frequently around the nesting sites, particularly in farm buildings and around oak and ash trees. The owls often leave clues of their presence, such as dense white droppings. The ground can be searched near the trees and around farm buildings, especially where you can see the droppings. The barn owl produces large sized pellets (30mm - 70mm long) that are smooth and rounded.

Tawny Owl pellets are found in wooded areas, often in tall, mature conifers. They produce medium sized pellets (20mm - 50mm) in length with a bumpy surface.

Little Owl pellets can be often found in their habitats of hedgerows and parks. They roost in old oak and ash trees as well as willow pollards. The pellets are small (15mm - 40mm long), elongated and pointed.

Why do we analyse owl pellets?

Owl pellets are important as they include the bones of numerous small mammals (the mice, voles and shrews), and can therefore be used to get information on local distributions of small mammals, and importantly can be used as a tool to highlight changes in abundance through changes in relative abundance in the pellets. If owl pellets are analysed over a period of time, we can observe variations and trends in numbers to spot any declines.

Results

A full report on the survey results up to 2005 is available to download here. The 2009 report is available here.

Where to send your pellets for analysis

We have now recruited a group of volunteers who will receive samples, analyse them and submit the results to us on a regular basis. If you have any owl pellets to submit for analysis, please send them to the nearest volunteer to you!

Volunteer analysers for Wales needed! - Email surveys@themammalsociety.org.to sign up if you live in Wales.

 

England

South East

Berkshire - Nick Sheller nshelley@bca.ac.uk

Hampshire - Sheila Dyason sheiladyason2007@yahoo.co.uk

East Sussex - Paul Webster treewright@hotmail.com

South West

Cornwall - Alex Pearce Alex-pearce@hotmail.co.uk

Wiltshire - Paul Wexler Paul.Wexler@wiltshire.ac.uk

Somerset - Gaina Cowley gainahawkandowl@aol.com

East Midlands

Lincolnshire -Chris Manning, chris.lincsdeer@gmail.com

Staffordshire - Kate McRae edukate.macrae@live.co.uk

Derbyshire - Jake Robinsonbio.jmr@gmail.com

East of England

Bedfordshire - Kim Goodger k.goodger@btinternet.com

Hertfordshire - Judith Cox coxj81@hotmail.co.uk

Suffolk - Tracey Kay kay.tracey@yahoo.co.uk

Yorkshire and the Humber

West Yorkshire - Heather Mikhail Heather.Mikhail@leeds.gov.uk

North East

Tyne and Wear - Barry Robinson barrynjean72@yahoo.com 

Northumberland - Veronica Carnell vacarnell@hotmail.com

North West

Lancashire - Heather Hilton Hbadger1209@aol.com

Lancashire - Zoe Foster geckozc@hotmail.com

Lancashire - Sharon Burke s.burke@burnley.ac.uk 

Merseyside - James Bladon j.bladon@student.liv.ac.uk

Merseyside - Terry Williams terry.j.williams40@blueyonder.co.uk

Cheshire - Adam Brown adambrown_100@hotmail.com

 

Wales

Mike Brown, Bridgend mikebrown01@hotmail.co.uk

 

Scotland

Amanda Wilson, Tayside manda_wilson@hotmail.co.uk

Shelagh Macmillan, Renfrewshire shelaghmacmillan@yahoo.co.uk

Melanie Brown, Dumfries and Galloway melbrown2000@yahoo.com 

 

Northern Ireland

Emma Cunningham, County Down emma.cunningham@mourne.co.uk

 

For more information about the survey, please email surveys@themammalsociety.org